Enjoy Free Shipping
Diamonds Education


The first step in choosing a diamond is deciding what shape you want. While the round shape is the most popular, there's plenty of other beautiful shapes to choose from which deliver brilliance and fire.

Of course, the most popular and commonly seen shape for diamonds is the round or princess cut, which has 57 or 58 facets (depending on whether the culet, or point at the bottom of the stone, is faceted or not). The shape of the cut is a matter of personal taste and preference. However, the quality of the cutter's execution of that shape is of primary importance. The shape of the diamond cut is heavily dependent upon the original shape of the rough stone.

Diamond & Gemstoen Shape

With Netaya you will find the most popular shapes Round & Princess, incase you would like a diamond with one of the other shapes, please feel free to call our customer service for a custom order.

To Understand Diamonds before buying, it is important to know the 4 Cs Color, Clarity, Cut, Carat. Below weve explained how each of these is important to know what you are going to receive.



Colour Grading Scale

D-F : Colorless: perfect or almost perfect color.

G-J : Near colorless: good to very good color, and this diamond may "face up" colorless when mounted, especially in white gold or platinum.

K-M : Light but noticeable yellow or brown tint. Not recommended for larger diamond stone purchases, especially in engagement rings.


Diamond Clarity is a measure of a diamond's internal flaws and impurities. A diamond that is virtually free of interior or exterior inclusions (commonly referred to as flaws) is of the highest quality, for nothing interferes with the passage of light through the diamond. To determine a diamond's clarity, it is viewed under 10x magnification by a trained gemologist. Small inclusions neither mar its beauty nor endanger its durability.

Clarity Grading Scale

Flawless - No internal or external flaws.

Internally Flawless - No internal flaws. Very rare and beautiful diamonds which are quite expensive.

VVS1, VVS2 - Very, Very Slightly Included: Very difficult to see inclusions under 10x agnification. An excellent quality diamond.

VS1, VS2 - Very Slightly Included: Inclusions are typically not visible to the unaided eye. Less expensive than the VVS1 or VVS2 grades. Even properly graded VS2 diamonds can have visible inclusions in very large sizes or diamonds that do not have many facets which make flaws more visible such as an emerald shape.

SI1, SI2 - Slightly Included: Inclusions are typically visible under 10x magnification, SI clarity diamonds are usually of the best value since inclusions are not always visible to the naked eye and prices are reasonable when compared to prices of the VS2 clarity and up grades. Some SI clarity diamonds do have visible inclusions and should be evaluated carefully.

SI3 - Slightly Included-Included: SI3 is an EGL grade and is not recognized by GIA or other gemological institutions. The SI3 clarity grade has been adopted by other labs as well. Typically an SI3 clarity grade would usually be given an I1 grade by the GIA.

I1 - Included: an I1 clarity diamond will have a visible flaw which can be seen with the naked eye, but there should only be one major flaw which is not too obvious. Overall the diamond should still look nice however I1 clarity grades vary quite a bit so one should be very careful when making a selection. If your budget only allows for an SI3 or I1 clarity diamond, be sure to examine it thoroughly before purchasing and make sure the inclusions do not detract from the overall beauty of the diamond.

I2, I3 - Included: These diamonds will have inclusions visible to the naked eye, and will have many black spots from the black inclusions and/or appear very cloudy or milky from the white inclusions, feathers and cracks.


Cut Diamond cutting is a fascinating art. Not only does it require great skill and precision in knowing how to cut, but also where on the stone to cut. Rough diamonds are expensive, so the diamond cutter must save as much weight (carat weight) as possible from the rough, and at the same time create a beautiful gem.

In addition to the type of cut, the proportions of the cut are critical to obtaining the maximum brilliance and fire from a diamond. The beauty of a diamond is its ability to capture light and return it to the eye, reflecting a beautiful rainbow of colors. When a diamond is cut to good proportions, light is reflected internally from one facet to another and dispersed through the top of the stone. Most gemologists consider cut the most important characteristic, because even a perfect diamond with a poor cut will have dulled brilliance.


Carat weight is the weight of the diamond measured in carats. One carat is divided into 100 "points," so that a diamond of 75 points weighs 0.75 carats. Carat weight is the most obvious factor in determining the value of a diamond. But two diamonds of equal carat weights can have very different prices, depending on their quality. Diamonds of high quality can be found in all size ranges.

Size Comparison

The scale above depicts the carat weights and diameter sizes of round diamonds. Other diamond shapes will vary. For example, while a 1 carat round shape diamond is 6.5mm on average, a 1 carat princess shape diamond is often 5.5mm instead.

Since diamonds are measured by carat weight, and not size, two diamonds of the same weight could have different sizes. Why? If a diamond is cut too shallow it will have a larger diameter but a smaller depth. Likewise, if a diamond is cut too deep (or bottom heavy) it will have a smaller diameter and thus appear smaller when viewed from the top.

Refer a Friend & SAVE!

Find Netaya On Facebook

Copyright 2014 Netaya.com - All Rights Reserved